Review on Dr. Adrian Woodworth, Mount Alvernia Hospital and Delivery Bill

Dr. Adrian Woodworth (Thomson Women’s Clinic)

When I found out I was expecting Kiddo back in 2009, I started looking for a gynae after I confirmed my pregnancy with a GP. Initially I wanted a female gynae who has a clinic in the West but the ones I found were either expensive or has a clinic at an inconvenient location for me. Then I figured I should just forget about going to a female gynae and just look for a male gynae whose charges are affordable. This was how I decided to go to Dr. Adrian. Not only is his clinic just minutes away from Choa Chu Kang MRT, his charges are affordable too and I could take up the antenatal package on my first visit itself when I was only 7 weeks pregnant! This meant that I did not have to pay the usual first time visit charge of around $200 which includes consultation, scan and vitamins as this was included in the package. His package was $588 back then but it’s now $688. Take a look at this pic for more info:

image

*Do note that if you take up his package but change gynae halfway or choose to deliver elsewhere, there’ll be a penalty where you’ll have to pay per visit charge for all your visits. The delivery deposit is usually collected from the 5th month of your pregnany onwards, ranging from $800-$2000. Dr. Adrian will decide when and how much exactly when the time comes and either he or his nurse will let you know.

You can find a lot of mixed reviews on Dr. Adrian.. The most common feedback about him is his super fast consultations. I don’t really mind because when he’s fast, the waiting time to see him is shorter too. If you have any concerns about your pregnancy, just remember what to ask or better still, write it down and pass it to him and he will answer them on the spot. My personal review on him is that he’s nice and friendly, not very chatty but he still joked at times, good stitching skills and his charges are really affordable for a private gynae. Since I was comfortable with him back then, I went back to him again when I found out I was expecting lil’ Bubster!

He does consultations at 2 clinics, Choa Chu Kang and Sengkang. More info here: http://www.thomsonmedical.com/thomson-womens-clinics-2/

Will I go back to him if I were to have No. 3? Definitely, but I’m stopping at 2 thank you very much. :p

 

Mount Alvernia Hospital

Dr. Adrian does deliveries at Thomson Medical Centre (TMC) and Mount Alvernia Hospital. Back in 2009, I had to go to TMC during my 12th and 20th weeks of pregnancy for the Down’s Syndrome scan and the detailed scan. I didn’t like how the hospital seemed cramped and the staff weren’t very friendly. So I decided to go for the Mount Alvernia Hospital tour. The staff were nice and both Hubster and I preferred the ambience there. Based on the estimated bill size at that time, TMC was only slightly expensive so we didn’t really take that into consideration. One thing about me is that I’m a research freak. I would spend so much of time researching online. This also helped me decide on Mt. A as there were a lot of good reviews on their service and food! I’m so glad I went for Mt. A as their service was indeed very good! The staff were always friendly and nice and the food… Oh so delicious!! Needless to say, I went back to Mt. A to deliver lil’ Bubster! It’s amazing how I NEVER encountered any rude or impatient staff. Not even one, I swear. Even when they were so busy and understaffed! They recently renovated their rooms and delivery suites so no issues on “run-down” look or aircon problems. Rooms were clean and spacious. And the food? Still as delicious as ever! People usually say that hospital food sucks so whenever I rave about Mt. A’s food, they look at me like I’m crazy LOL!

 

Delivery Bill

We have come to the most important part, something which most, if not all, Mommies-to-be research about.. HOW MUCH CASH DO I HAVE TO FORK OUT FOR MY DELIVERY? LOL! So here’s my final bill for 3D2N stay in a 2-bedder, Normal Delivery with Epidural. Bubster only had slight jaundice so he could go home together with me.

*Please take note that gynae charges and other charges like use of epidural or extra days stay for baby etc. may vary. Bill is for 1st Nov 2015-3rd Nov 2015. You can read my birth story here if you haven’t: https://momsterschronicles.wordpress.com/2015/12/13/momster-es-birth-story/

imageimage

Total charges for baby: $1,153.46 ($900 medisave, $253.46 cash)

image

*Dr. Chong Jin Long is the anaesthetist who administered the epidural.

image

Total charges for myself: $5,352.71 ($2,100 Medisave, Cash deposit $2,500 + balance cash payable $752.71)

So the total cash I paid was $3,506.17.

I hope this post will be useful for Mommies-to-be who are considering Dr. Adrian or Mount Alvernia Hospital and I would be happy to help if you have any questions. Just leave a comment or PM me on the Momsters’ Chronicles page! May you have a smooth pregnancy and delivery! 😉

**All above info are correct to the best of my knowledge but I strongly suggest you to check with Dr. Adrian or Mt. Alvernia in case there have been any changes. 

::Momster E::

 

7 thoughts on “Review on Dr. Adrian Woodworth, Mount Alvernia Hospital and Delivery Bill

  1. Hi, may I ask for the delivery deposit that you have placed ranging from $800-$2000. Is for the doctor fee during delivery so for ur final bill, do they pay you back this money?

  2. Hi Momster, pls advise if Dr Adrian is a patient & gentle doc??? Because I am extremely scared of pain (in case needs to do operation & stitching) and I love to discuss issues with a patient doc too. I am seriously looking for a good gynae with affordable charges now. Pls help me & reply ASAP. Thanks a lot.

    • Hi Yan, if you’re looking for a gentle doctor then I wouldn’t recommend Dr. Adrian. You may want to consider Dr. Ben Choey from W Gynae Women’s Clinic. I’ve consulted him a few times before when I was TTC but he was with SBCC Women’s Clinic previously. He is very patient and gentle but charges wise may be more ex than Dr. Adrian. Maybe you can call W Gynae Clinic and check? Hope that helps.

Leave a comment